Seven Day Summer Shape Up!

Today marks the first day of the 7 Day Summer Shape Up – a plant-based nutrition program run by Edmonton-based holistic nutritionist Stephanie Long (who happens to be an old colleague and friend of mine!).

Although I’ve been eating a plant-based diet for almost four years now, I decided to sign up for this program because:

  1. I wanted confirmation and guidance from a health professional that I’m obtaining an adequate balance of nutrients (i.e. am I getting enough protein, healthy fats, etc.)
  2. I wanted to get back into a routine of eating healthy meals every day of the week. Lately, healthy eating seems to go out the window on weekends, mostly because I’m out of town a lot during the summer months visiting friends, attending weddings, going to the cottage, etc. I felt like I needed a little push to help me get back on track!
  3. The price was right! For just $35, I received a 7-day meal plan (including recipes), a grocery shopping list, one-hour webinar, and access to a private Facebook group to receive nutrition coaching and guidance.

encourage mint

Throughout the next seven days, my plan is to share any new tidbits of information I learn, as well as my overall experience with the program. Healthy eating can seem like a chore, but with the right guidance and a little bit of preparation it doesn’t have to be difficult :)

Before starting the program, I received a meal plan with recipes for breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well as optional snack suggestions. I was pleased to see that most of the items on the grocery list were ones that I typically purchase on a regular basis or already had stocked in my pantry. I was pretty excited to get out to the store to buy what I needed (shopping for food > shopping for clothes).

I downloaded a meal planning app so I can continue planning my meals in advance after the program. That way, I can purchase everything I need for the week at once and not have to worry about having to run out to the store at a later time. I find that when I’m missing ingredients to cook something I want, I end up making something less healthful or order takeout instead.

Program Prep!

Program Prep!

To kick-off Day 1 (and every day of the program), I start my day with a cup of warm water and juice from half a lemon. I’d heard countless times about the benefits of drinking lemon water first thing in the morning, but I’d never actually tried it until today. In addition to gently detoxifying the body, lemon water can help boost metabolism and alkalize the body, helping to purify your skin. The taste was too sour for my liking, but drinking a warm beverage first thing in the morning was soothing and helped me feel more awake. I’m going to try adding a touch of honey tomorrow to help with the sour taste ;)

Day 1 also consisted of Strawberry Oatmeal for breakfast and a hearty Cauliflower White Bean Soup for lunch. I don’t typically eat JUST soup for lunch, because I find I’m hungry again in an hour, but this recipe kept me full well into the late afternoon. That was one of my primary concerns before starting this program – staying full and not being tempted to indulge in sweets.

Lo and behold, when I arrived at work this morning, my co-worker had brought in a chocolate truffle mousse cake for our team to enjoy (*drools*). On any other day I would have had a slice without a second thought, but my breakfast and lunch kept me well-fueled so I didn’t experience a craving for sugar. It’s a small win, but I’ll take it!

Stay tuned for more learnings…

Be Well xo

For more information about Stephanie and her services, check out her website.

One thought on “Seven Day Summer Shape Up!

  1. Pingback: Learnings from the Seven Day Summer Shape Up | inspiring healthy living

Leave a Reply

