Meatless Monday: Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

In my last blog post I had mentioned how I finally ran a full 5k without stopping to walk, and that my goal was to continue decreasing my time so I could try to complete it in less than 28 minutes on race day.

Well, apparently training has been doing my body good, because just last night I ran 5k in about 28 minutes! Since I have three and a half weeks left until race day, I’m going to continue working hard to see if I can get down to about 26 minutes. It’s hard to believe how far I’ve come in less than 2 months, but it just goes to show what a little persistence and motivation can do! I’m actually starting to ENJOY running, to the point where it’s become an important part of my daily routine.

Making a conscious effort to eat well and drink plenty of water has definitely helped with the training process. Now that the cooler weather is approaching, I’ve been making a lot of homemade soup. It’s perfect to make on a Sunday because you can keep half of it on hand for quick meals throughout the rest of the week, and then freeze the remainder in individual freezer bags for nights where you don’t feel like cooking.

Nothing screams fall like fresh squash from the farmer’s market! Butternut squash is my FAVOURITE. This recipe is super simple and super tasty – like.. lick-the-bowl-it’s-so-yummy, tasty. You laugh now, but when you make this recipe I guarantee you’ll be tempted to lick your bowl clean!

Roasted Butternut Squash Soup
Serves 4-6

Ingredients:
4 cups butternut squash, peeled and cubed
1 small onion, chopped
1 tbsp olive oil
Seasonings, such as garlic powder, dried rosemary, or sage (I used about ¼ tsp of each)
Salt & pepper, to taste
3 cups no-salt-added vegetable broth (plus more, in case the soup is too thick for your liking)
¼ cup plain Greek yogurt

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 375oC. Place the squash and onion in a large bowl. Drizzle with olive oil, whatever seasonings you plan to use, and a little bit of salt and pepper. Gently mix so that everything is nicely coated in oil, and then pour into a large roasting pan. Roast for about 45 minutes, or until tender, stirring the mixture a couple of times.
    066
  2. When done, blend the squash, vegetable broth, and Greek yogurt using a large blender or food processor until smooth and well-combined (I had to blend everything in a couple of batches because there was so much!). Transfer to a large pot set at low to medium heat and stir constantly until heated through. If the soup is too thick for your liking, feel free to mix in a bit more broth or water. Enjoy with a light, green salad or fresh bread!
    068

Be Well!

5 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

  1. Looks and sounds great Laura! I’m making this tonight! I think I might add some nutmeg too… Can’t wait. Such a nice fall meal.

Leave a Reply

