Homemade Strawberry Pomegranate Applesauce

Hello, blogging world! Sorry I’ve been so absent as of late. I got caught up in holiday celebrations and was busy wrapping up the last few weeks at my internship. I’m excited (and slightly terrified) to announce that I’m back on the job hunt… and trying to get back on track with my healthy habits!

While the Christmas holidays left me feeling grateful for the wonderful people I have in my life, they also tempted me with large amounts of delicious food and a lack of motivation to engage in any physical activity. The arrival of 2013 inspired me to set some new goals for myself, and I’m pleased to say that thus far I’ve done a fairly good job at sticking to them. I’ve been working out again and have been trying to experiment with new, healthy recipes. I’m also planning on trying something new in the coming weeks – trampoline dodgeball! It’s sure to be a lot of fun, but also a great workout. I’ll try to snap a few photos to share at some point.

In an attempt to stay on track with healthy eating, but also satisfy my sweet tooth, I decided to give homemade applesauce a try. My parents got me the Ninja® Master Prep® blender for Christmas and I’ve been eager to put it to good use. After trying this simple recipe, I think it’s safe to say that I will never purchase pre-made applesauce again! Another bonus – this recipe will make your kitchen smell absolutely INCREDIBLE. It also contains no added sugars!

Homemade Strawberry Pomegranate Applesauce
Yields approximately 4 cups

Homemade Strawberry Pomegranate Applesauce

Ingredients:

6 apples, cored and chopped (I used Royal Gala and kept the skins on to retain more nutrients and fibre – you could also try Granny Smith or Honey Crisp apples)
1 cup fresh or frozen pomegranate arils (click here to learn how to open a pomegranate)
1 cup chopped strawberries, fresh or frozen
3/4 cup water
Splash of lemon juice (about 2-3 tbsp)
A few pinches of cinnamon

Directions:
1. In a large pot, bring all of the ingredients to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, partially covered, for about 25 minutes or until the fruit is tender.

Applesauce

2. Transfer fruit mixture to a blender or food processor  and purée until smooth and well-combined.

Enjoy! And Happy New Year!

Be Well xo

2 thoughts on “Homemade Strawberry Pomegranate Applesauce

  1. Pingback: Healthy Eating 101 | inspiring healthy living

Leave a Reply

