Meatless Monday: Brown Rice Bowl with Fiddleheads & Fresh Herbs

Happy Meatless Monday, folks! I’m very pleased to say that I will be able to provide a recipe for you this week that uses fiddleheads. Some of you may recall my post from last week which talked about Mama Earth‘s latest delivery of organic goodies, and how I was hoping to figure out what the heck to do with them. For those of you wondering what fiddleheads are, they are the curled, edible shoots of the ostrich fern. From what I’ve read, they need to be cleaned and cooked very carefully, otherwise they can make you sick. Health Canada has more information about how to prepare them. Fiddleheads are also nutrient powerhouses – they’re chock full of antioxidants, high in iron and fibre, and even a source of Omega-3 and Omega-6 fatty acids. Check out this article if you’re interested in learning more about them!

One of the best go-to healthy meals that my family likes to enjoy is ‘make-your-own’ brown rice bowls. This is a great meal to enjoy if you are trying to get rid of leftovers in your fridge. What we do is make a large amount of brown rice and then chop up a smorgasbord of veggies that need to be used up, such as asparagus, mushrooms, peppers, etc. We usually throw in some protein as well (chicken for the fam and tofu or beans for myself!), along with fresh cilantro, lime juice and cheese. It’s great because everyone can choose what items they want to add to their bowl. I usually include everything in my bowl, drizzle it with a bit of lime-chili sauce, and mix it all up :) – very tasty!

This week’s recipe is a new version of the brown rice bowl that I came up with on the spot. I opted to use a mixture of fresh herbs from our herb garden and a drizzling of lemon juice instead of the lime-chili sauce. I have to say, these fiddleheads are growing on me, despite their strange appearance. Enjoy! :)

Brown Rice Bowl with Fiddleheads & Fresh Herbs

Serves 1 person :)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup uncooked brown rice (quinoa would work too if you prefer something gluten-free!)

1 cup fiddleheads, thoroughly washed and stems trimmed

1/4 cup chopped grape tomatoes

1-2 tbsp finely chopped red onion

2 tbsp fresh herbs, chopped (I used cilantro, parsley and basil)

1-2 tbsp lemon juice

Pepper, to taste

Other optional ingredients: beans, tofu, feta cheese, goat cheese, mushrooms… the list goes on!

Directions:

1. Cook the rice in a rice cooker (use 1/2 cup of water for 1/2 cup of uncooked rice).

2. Wash the fiddleheads thoroughly and trim the stems. Boil for 10-15 minutes or steam for 10-12 minutes; drain and roughly chop.

3. In a bowl, combine the cooked brown rice, fiddleheads, tomatoes, onion, herbs, lemon juice and pepper. Then… EAT!

4 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Brown Rice Bowl with Fiddleheads & Fresh Herbs

  1. I’ve enjoyed your site so I’m nominating you for the Illuminating Blogger Award for informative, illuminating blog content. I know not everyone participates in blog awards but I hope you’ll at least check it out because it’s a great way to discover new blogs, meet new web friends and pay it forward, so to speak. If you’re interested in participating, you can check out the details at my site … http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/ … Hope you’re having a great day!

Leave a Reply

