Meatless Monday: Salsa & Hummus

Let me just start off by saying WOW. Was that a gorgeous weekend or what?? That was probably the best weather I’ve ever experienced over the May long weekend. The multiple bug bites I acquired were well worth the hours spent lounging in the sun, cooling off in the lake, and sipping sangria. I’m very thankful that one of the things I did not acquire this weekend was a sun burn.  In fact, I don’t think anyone I was with got sun burnt. Only the hotdogs suffered severe burns after being lost in last night’s campfire. I am going to estimate that a good 10-15 hotdogs were dropped during several people’s attempts to make spider dogs. It was not a good weekend for the weiners. I, on the other hand, am pleased to say that my veggie dog survived ;)

To make up for my lack of Meatless Monday posts as of late, this week you are getting an extra bonus recipe! I had brought these healthy snacks up to the cottage with me to share with everyone. Although the salsa was the first to go, both dishes were very much enjoyed by all!

Easy Tomato Salsa

Ingredients:

5 tomatoes, chopped into small pieces

1/2 green pepper, chopped into small pieces

1/2 onion, chopped into small pieces

1 jalapeno pepper, chopped finely

1 handful cilantro, chopped

Juice of 1 lime

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tbsp sugar

Simply mix everything in a bowl and serve slightly chilled!

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

I got this recipe from the blog Our Best Bites.  The recipe called for store bought roasted red peppers, but I just made my own. Simply slice a pepper into quarters and place on a baking sheet, skin side up, under the broiler for 10-15 minutes. The peppers will be done when the skin is charred and black. Once the peppers have cooled down a bit, the skin should peel off very easily.

In other news, I have been nominated for another blogging award! Stay tuned for more details later this week.

Be Well xo

Leave a Reply

