Maple Soy Cedar-Planked Salmon

Well folks, it’s official! I’m finished school – FOREVER. Sorry for the lack of posts over the past several days, but I’ve been enjoying a much-needed and well-deserved break and have been catching up on sleep. It also appears that my body has finally “crashed” after working so hard to stay on top of everything, so I now have a bit of a cold.

So, what’s next? Well I don’t have any sort of job lined up yet, but I’m trying not to stress about that right now. For the meantime, I plan on dedicating my spare time to job hunting, cooking, reading, meditating, and staying active! I’m hoping to keep myself busy and motivated to stay busy in order to avoid slipping into a “rut” (aka sleeping in, lazing about in front of the TV, etc.). You can expect lots of recipes, as I loooove cooking and now have plenty of time to try new things :)

Speaking of trying new things… this weekend I discovered that my tastebuds have finally developed a liking for avocado. I’ve never really been a huge fan of it – especially in guacamole. However, my best friend’s mom made us fresh guacamole for a snack and it was delicious! Even better, my dad went grocery shopping yesterday and happened to purchase all of the ingredients needed to make some of my own. I was all set to make some and share the recipe with you all, but unfortunately the avocados aren’t quite ripe enough yet. Stay tuned!

In the meantime, here’s another recipe that’s chock full of omega-3s! I don’t eat fish very often (only about once every 2-3 weeks), but when I do it’s usually salmon. My favourite way to enjoy  salmon is to cook it on a cedar plank!

Maple Soy Cedar-Planked Salmon

Click here for directions on how to cook the fish on a cedar plank. Here’s a recipe for the sauce we used tonight:

Maple-Soy Glaze

3 spoonfuls of maple syrup

2 spoonfuls of reduced sodium soy sauce

1 spoonful of grainy Dijon mustard

1 spoonful of honey

A dash of garlic powder

1-2 spoonfuls of finely chopped green onion

Delicious!

Even the cat couldn’t resist. In this picture she’s obviously saying, “Feed me!!!!”

Fun fact of the day: did you know that eating fish rich in omega-3s may help boost your mood? Click here to see what other foods may help boost your mood!

Be Well  xo

One thought on “Maple Soy Cedar-Planked Salmon

  1. Pingback: Homemade Guacamole & The Health Benefits of Avocados | inspiring healthy living

Leave a Reply

