Cinnamon Quinoa “Oatmeal”

I know, I know.. I should be studying. But I made an extra delicious power breakfast this morning that I felt needed to be shared! Expect a lot of recipes over the next little while. This particular dish was inspired by 101 Cookbooks’ recipe for Warm and Nutty Cinnamon Quinoa. I had “pinned” a photo of it on Pinterest and thought it resembled an alternative to oatmeal. So, after a few modifications of my own, I made this into tasty breakfast!

 

 

Cinnamon Quinoa “Oatmeal”

Ingredients:

1/2 cup organic quinoa (Costco sells it in bulk!)

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup low fat milk (soy milk works too)

1 cup organic berries (I had a frozen bag of organic mixed fruit – cherries, blackberries, and blueberries – so I just used that! Really you could use whatever fruit you want. Mango would be delicious!)

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 small handful flax seeds (ground flax seeds would be better as it is more easily digested and the nutrients are better absorbed, but this is what I happened to have)

A splash of vanilla extract

Pecans, for garnishing

Directions:

1. Combine the quinoa, water, and milk in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and let simmer for about 15 minutes. Remove from heat and let stand for 5 minutes. If you’re using frozen berries, allow them to thaw while the quinoa cooks.  ***NOTE: Keep a watchful eye while the quinoa is boiling, I found the milk made it boil over the sides of the pot really easily.

2. In a medium-sized bowl, combine the cooked quinoa, cinnamon, flax seeds, vanilla, and berries. Because I used frozen berries, their juices turned the quinoa a pink-ish colour. Woops! Still delicious, though. Sprinkle some pecans (or walnuts, almonds, etc.) on top. There you have it – a healthy protein/fibre-packed breakfast! I enjoyed my “oatmeal” with a sliced orange, hard boiled egg, glass of organic soy milk, and a fresh cup of coffee. Mmmm… Now, time to get to work!!!!

– Be Well xo

Leave a Reply

