Kale Chips: The Ultimate Study Snack

Classes are officially over and I am now in exam mode. In exactly one week I will be completely finished! Only 1 assignment, 2 exams, 1 take-home exam, and 2 days of placement stand in my way! If there’s one thing I love to do while studying (besides procrastinate), it’s munch on junk food. HOWEVER, I recently set a new goal to try and “eat clean” as much as possible, so that means candy and chips are a no-no. To satisfy my craving, I made some kale chips last night as a study snack. These are fantastic because they are low in fat, calories, and sodium (depending on how much salt you add). Now you can eat chips guilt-free!

Kale Chips

Ingredients:

1 bunch of kale (I only used about 1/4 of the bunch – kale chips are best when eaten right away, so I didn’t want to have leftovers)

1 tbsp olive oil (since I used less kale I only needed about 1 tsp)

Seasonings (I used a tiny pinch of salt, pepper, garlic powder, and cayenne pepper – omit the cayenne pepper if you don’t like spicy things!)

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 375ºF. Remove and discard the thick stems. Wash the kale leaves and dry thoroughly; tear them into bite-sized pieces.

2. Place the leaves into a large bowl and drizzle with the olive oil and whatever seasonings you’ve decided to use. Gently mix everything with your hands until the leaves are well-coated. Place on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper (be careful not to overcrowd the sheet, or else they won’t get crispy). Bake for about 10-15 minutes, turning halfway, until the edges are brown and they are nice and crispy. Time to munch!

2 thoughts on “Kale Chips: The Ultimate Study Snack

  1. I had seen this made on Jacques Pepin’s show but didn’t have the recipe written down – thanks. Just one other comment, don’t discard the stems! Kale stems are very sweet and maybe they don’t “crisp” but you can use them in other things.

Leave a Reply

