Meatless Monday: Vegetarian Sloppy Joes

Today I discovered the greatest thing – textured soy protein! I stopped at the grocery store after class to grab a few things and happened to notice it in the aisle that sells bags of organic grain products. It’s basically just de-hydrated soy pieces that you can add water to. Just 1/4 cup provides 13 g of protein, 5 g of fibre, and only 70 calories. I was looking forward to trying it, so as soon as I got home I put my creative thinking cap on and tried to come up with something to make. I had also purchased fresh, whole grain buns and some kale, so I thought… SLOPPY JOES!  I had never cooked with textured soy protein before, so I was a little bit skeptical about how my spur-of-the-moment sloppy joes would turn out. But oh.. my.. goodness. These were delightful, and very filling!

Another good thing about this product is that once it absorbs the water, it sort of resembles ground chicken or turkey. I say this is a “good thing” because sometimes people are hesitant to try soy products because of their appearance.  For those of you with kids, they probably won’t even be able to tell that there’s no meat in this recipe! Come to think of it, I could probably make these for my boyfriend and he wouldn’t notice a difference either ;)

Vegetarian Sloppy Joes

 

Serves 2 people

Ingredients:

1/2 cup textured soy protein

1/2 cup warm or boiling water

1/2 cup chopped mushrooms

1/4 cup finely chopped red onion

1/3 cup tomato sauce (homemade is best, but I was hungry!)

2 whole grain buns

4 fresh kale leaves, stems removed

Seasoning (I used garlic powder, onion powder, red chili flakes, and pepper)

Sprinkling of Parmesan cheese (optional)

Directions:

1. Combine the soy protein and water in a bowl; let it sit for 5-10 minutes, until all the water has been absorbed.

2. Saute the mushrooms, onions, and seasonings in a frying pan on medium heat for a few minutes, until soft and tender. Add the soy protein and tomato sauce and stir until heated through. Add a sprinkling of parmesan cheese and stir until mixed in. I recommend doing a taste-test to see if more seasonings are needed – soy can sometimes taste pretty bland!

3. Serve on whole grain buns with a couple of fresh kale leaves.

There you have it! A tasty, hearty, MEAT-FREE meal!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Be Well xo

3 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Vegetarian Sloppy Joes

Leave a Reply

