Flourless Chocolate Banana Honey [Walnut] Cake

I hope everyone has been enjoying the long weekend! Yesterday I had an Easter potluck with some friends. My boyfriend and I had volunteered to bring a veggie tray and some sort of dessert, but then we were faced with a few issues: a nut allergy, someone that’s lactose intolerant, and another that couldn’t eat gluten. My initial thought was to play it safe and just bring fruit for dessert, but that would be the lazy way out! Instead, I took the time to search for a recipe that sounded good and appeared somewhat easy to make (I’ve never made a lactose or gluten-free dessert before!). I stumbled across this one on Gluten Free Easily (GFE). The recipe calls for walnuts, but I had to leave them out so as not to cause an unwanted allergic reaction!

 

Unfortunately my boyfriend accidentally poked a hole in the cake when he was taking it out of the oven, but we came up with a creative solution to cover it up – banana slices! You can only kind of see it in the picture..

I’m not the biggest fan of chocolate cake (it’s all about vanilla!!), but this actually turned out pretty good! It was very moist and kind of tasted like a combination of brownies and banana bread. Anyways, I’m off to a family get-together now! Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Be Well xo

Leave a Reply

