Meatless Monday: Vegetable Pizza on Whole Wheat Crust

What a day. Who would’ve thought that sitting through 8 hours of class could be so exhausting?? I came home feeling like a tightly wound ball of stress. Although I didn’t get home from class until around 6:50 pm, I still found time to squeeze in a quick workout at the gym, prepare a delicious, healthy lunch for tomorrow, hard boil some eggs for the rest of the week, enjoy a glass of wine, AND make a tasty meat-free meal for dinner. I must say, if I can keep up this pace I’m gonna make one hell of a super mom someday. Someday VERY FAR away!!! The only thing I didn’t do was make a homemade crust for my pizza tonight. Oh well, you gotta take short cuts once in a while, right?

Vegetable Pizza on Whole Wheat Crust

Ingredients:

Whole wheat pizza dough (I used a store-bought kind and sliced off a piece about the size of my fist)

Your favourite tomato sauce (if you are using store-bought sauce, watch out for the sodium content!)

Your favourite veggies (I used portobello mushrooms, red bell pepper, steamed spinach, and a bit of red onion)

Your favourite cheese(s) (I used a little bit of havarti)

Directions:

1. Prepare your dough according to the package instructions. Mine said to let the dough rise for about 20 minutes prior to use, so I prepped all my toppings in the meantime.

2. Place the dough on a lightly oiled baking sheet and spread it into a pizza shape. Spread your favourite sauce on top of the dough, add your veggies and cheese and bake for 20 minutes at 425ºF. Easy, right? And a great meal to make if you have kids, because you can get them to make their own personal-sized pizza with their favourite toppings.

Happy Meatless Monday!

3 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Vegetable Pizza on Whole Wheat Crust

Leave a Reply

