Meatless Monday: Veggie & Tofu Stirfry with Quinoa

I have been slacking MAJORLY on my workouts lately, but today I was finally motivated enough to go to the gym. Gotta make up for all that booze I consumed on St.Patty’s Day, right? It felt great to get back into things, I felt so refreshed and energized afterwards. I knew I had to make an equally energizing, nutritious meal to reward all my hard work. This week’s Meatless Monday recipe is easy, delicious, and oh-so-good for you! The ingredients can be played around with easily as well.

Veggie & Tofu Stirfry with Quinoa

Ingredients:

1/2 cup quinoa

1 cup water or vegetable broth (I used half water, half broth)

2 slices of extra firm tofu (about 1-2 cm thick)

1 tbsp of your favourite marinade (I used Lime Chili marinade)

2 tsp olive oil

1-2 cups of chopped veggies (I used portobello mushrooms, red and yellow bell peppers, and zucchini)

1 handful of fresh bean sprouts

An assortment of your favourite spices (I used some garlic powder, onion powder, cilantro, and chili flakes)

Directions:

1. Add the quinoa and water/broth to a small pot and bring to a boil. Turn the heat down to low, cover, and simmer for about 15 minutes. Let stand for 5 minutes, and then fluff with a fork.

2. Rinse the tofu and gently pat it dry; slice it into bite-sized pieces. Toss with the marinade and set aside (do this step well in advance in order to let the flavours really sink in).

3. Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Cook the tofu for about 4-5 minutes. Then add the chopped veggies and spices and stirfry until tender.

4. Serve your stirfry over a bed of quinoa and top everything off with a handful of fresh bean sprouts. Yum yum!

I only ate about 1/3 of the cooked quinoa, so I’m going to use the rest in a salad – I will share the recipe tomorrow!

I hope you take advantage of this BEAUTIFUL weather and spend some time outdoors!

– Be Well xo

One thought on “Meatless Monday: Veggie & Tofu Stirfry with Quinoa

  1. Pingback: Cranberry Pecan Quinoa Salad | inspiring healthy living

Leave a Reply

