Meatless Monday: Homemade Veggie Burgers

There is no better way to enjoy the beginnings of spring weather than by barbecuing! And perhaps enjoying an ice-cold beer… mmm. Therefore, it is only appropriate that this week’s Meatless Monday recipe be for tasty meat-free burgers! This is my second time trying this recipe, and I made a couple of small changes to better satisfy my taste buds. I also nearly burned my house down in the process. I popped my burger bun in the oven for a couple of minutes to toast it… and then forgot about it… and then remembered it was there when I heard my mom screaming, “SOMETHING’S ON FIRE!”

My bad.

The good news is the burger itself was not harmed. Unlike some other burger recipes, this one does not require any egg, so it is entirely vegetarian-friendly! With time I will eventually tweak this recipe to perfection.

Homemade Veggie Burgers

Ingredients:

3/4 cup chopped pecans or walnuts

1 tbsp olive oil

3 cups sliced mushrooms (I used a combination of mushrooms and carrots this time)

1 onion, peeled and chopped

2 cloves garlic, crushed

1 19oz can lentils, rinsed and drained (black beans could also  be used – I will try this next time!)

1 tsp Worcestershire sauce

1/2 tsp thyme (I used hamburger seasoning that I found in the cupboard)

Pepper, to taste

1/2 cup fresh bread crumbs (preferably whole wheat)

1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley (this time I switched it up and used cilantro instead… so good!)

Directions:

1. Toast the nuts in a large skillet over medium heat for 5-7 minutes and then set aside. Add the olive oil to the skillet and saute the vegetables (mushrooms and onion, or whatever else you decide to use) and garlic for a few minutes, until soft.

2. Put the vegetables through a food processor, along with the nuts, lentils, Worcestershire, thyme, pepper, and parsley/cilantro. Pulse until the mixture is well blended. Transfer to a bowl and stir in the bread crumbs.

3. Shape the mixture into patties and fry them in a little bit of olive oil over medium heat. Cook until they are golden and crusty on both sides. If you are making these ahead of time, simply freeze the patties until ready for use (separate each one with a sheet of wax paper so that they don’t freeze all stuck together).

4. Serve the burgers on whole wheat or whole grain buns with whatever toppings you like! Tonight I used a bit of goat cheese, some fresh salsa, and spinach. Om nom nom :)

AND, I even treated myself to dessert tonight. Why? To celebrate! I recently was asked to do a guest blog entry for Sun Life’s blog, BrighterLife. Stay tuned for more info!

Happy Meatless Monday!

– Be Well xo

2 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Homemade Veggie Burgers

Leave a Reply

