Meatless Monday: Easy Spinach & Ricotta Ravioli

Happy Meatless Monday!

I’m proud to say that I survived my two midterms today. Only one more to go! I’ve even been finding time to keep up with my exercise. Earlier this afternoon I got a sudden urge to do something that RARELY happens… go for a run outdoors!  I like cardio, but hate running. For whatever reason it always gives me a headache afterwards, even though I’m in good shape and make an effort to drink plenty of water. However, today I felt I had to take advantage of today’s sunny, mild weather and spend some time outside. Once again, I found I didn’t feel so great afterwards. Until I can figure out some reasons why, I thought I should make a “feel-good” dinner to help me get through my last night of studying (until final exams, of course… but let’s not think about that right now). For me, “feel-good” means meat-free and delicious!

Easy Spinach & Ricotta Ravioli

Ingredients:

About 24 wonton wrappers

1 cup reduced fat ricotta cheese

1 cup chopped fresh spinach

1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

1 egg

Salt and pepper

Any other seasonings you prefer (I used a bit of garlic powder)

Directions:

1. Stir together ricotta, spinach, parmesan cheese, egg, a pinch of salt and pepper, and any other seasonings you wish to use.

2. Fill a small dish with water. Lay a wonton wrapper on a clean, dry surface. Keep the remaining wonton wrappers in their package, covered with a damp paper towel so they don’t dry out. Place a spoonful of filling (about 1 tbsp or so) in the middle of the wonton wrapper.

3. Dip your finger in the water and moisten the edges of the wrapper. Fold the wonton over, pressing out any air bubbles, and press to seal the edges. Repeat with remaining wonton wrappers and filling.

4. To cook the ravioli, bring a large pot of salted water to a boil and cook for 5-6 minutes. Remove ravioli from the pot carefully and top with your favourite pasta sauce, or just a sprinkling of parsley and parmesan cheese. Enjoy!

I was so hungry that I forgot to take a picture of the finished product before eating it (sorry!!). However, I did make homemade pumpkin ravioli last week that I was able to get a picture of, so here it is. Very similar to the recipe above, except made with canned pumpkin and a bit of nutmeg and sage (instead of the chopped spinach). I added some portobello mushrooms to it as well.

One thought on “Meatless Monday: Easy Spinach & Ricotta Ravioli

Leave a Reply

